Restricted Driving and License Rules in Oklahoma
July 14, 2021
The DMV will revoke your driver's license if you are convicted of DUI (Driving Under the Influence) (Department of Motor Vehicles). This is extremely detrimental to anyone because driving allows a person to get to work, pick up his children from school, and run other necessary errands. It's a good thing there are restricted licenses that you can utilize to get vital things done for yourself and your family. Below is a more detailed definition of a limited license in Nevada, as well as the restrictions that must be adhered to in order to continue driving. Law in Oklahoma for restricted driving is strict and if you are injured by some irresponsible driving or driver, call a criminal defense attorney.
Getting a Green Light Driver's Permit
Oklahoma has a graduated licensing system for drivers. The system restricts teen drivers' driving time and encourages them to attend a driver's education course. Some high schools and private commercial driving institutions offer state-recognized driver's education programs. A parent-taught course is also available through AAA.
Permit for Learners
Teenagers who have completed or are currently completing a driver's education course can obtain Learner Permit 15 and half by passing a written driving test and a vision exam. A licensed driver aged minimum 21 should accompany a teen with learner permit at the front seat and that driver should hold the license for at least 2 years. They should have 50 supervised driving hours including 10 hours at night.
A 16-year-old driver who has held a Learner Permit for minimum 6 months and completed the required 50 hours of supervised driving can apply for an Intermediate License, which limits when they can drive and the number of passengers they can transport. They can drive unaccompanied between the hours of 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.; if they are linked to school, church, or employment; and at any time of day if accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21. They can transport one passenger, passengers who live in the driver's home, or any number of passengers if accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21.
To obtain the license, they must pass a driving skills test. To apply for a driver's license without having completed driver's education, a person must be 16 and half.
License with No Restrictions
An unrestricted class D driver's license can be obtained by a 16 and half year old motorist who has held an Intermediate License for minimum 6 months. They must be at least 17 years old if they do not have driver's education. Teenagers aged 18 and over are exempt from the Graduated Driver's License system.
Beyond the Fundamentals
Your duty isn't done just because your teen has a driver's license. It's critical to continue teaching and developing abilities beyond the fundamentals. Driving with your child in a range of situations (temperature, time of day, traffic volume) will aid their development. It's beneficial to teach kids how to anticipate issues by scanning ahead and detecting potential threats. It's also a good idea to teach kids how to anticipate the actions of other drivers.
Be aware of the situations that cause the most issues for rookie drivers, and discuss the hazards with your child. Driving with other teenagers, without wearing a seatbelt, and, of course, driving while under the drug influence or alcohol are all examples. Even while night driving is difficult for all drivers, it is more difficult for teenagers who do not have the experience to foresee and respond effectively when visibility is decreased. Many teenagers are sleep deprived, and this can lead to poor driving. Distractions from electronic gadgets, particularly cellphones, can be fatal.
For your concerns regarding restricted driving, see us at Handley Law Center for criminal defense attorney.
**Disclaimer: This blog article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship.